Alex’s Books


“He and his Keepers called it the JK, so if he said he knew something they could quickly clarify if he meant he knew it via his mild psychic ability or by more usual methods. They’d told him this kind of thing was common in his mother’s family like his sharp, white teeth came from his father’s side. Genetic. Inherited. Just weird enough to brand him a freak and an oddball.

So, with the limited information Danny had been given of his family’s history he dared to hope his uncle might have left him something truly bizarre and interesting. A magic monkey’s paw. A trunk full of Atlantean coins. A map leading to pirate treasure. The imagination ran wild with possibilities.”

Buy on

$1.99 ebook ~ $9.99 paperback ~ Available for Kindle Unlimited

Witchbone Book One: The Goblin’s Winter

The town of Eddystone, New Hampshire is locked in the icy grip of extreme winter temperatures, an arctic cold spell unheard of there for over a hundred years.

Danny Hallow, an eleven-year-old boy with a cryptic and closely guarded family history, is brought to Eddystone by his three Keepers. He’s been summoned for the reading of his uncle Enoch Wildwood’s will, a strange and reclusive man Danny didn’t even know existed until his sudden and mysterious demise.

While staying at his family’s ancestral estate of Gnomewood Home, Danny gets more than he bargained for in his uncle’s will and learns his family is even more unusual than he realized. He’s inherited some potentially dangerous genetic abilities and finds out that some people in the town of Eddystone think he should never have been born at all.

To add to his troubles, the deep cold has brought a horde of small, enigmatic creatures out of hiding. Small predators that are sneaky, vicious and hungry. Predators that take an interest in Danny.

With the help of some new friends and Eddystone’s most reviled outcast, Danny attempts to solve the riddle of the malevolent creatures that are plaguing the small seacoast town and its denizens. Along the way, he begins to explore his own emerging abilities and attempts to unravel the complicated web of his family’s secrets, kept hidden for centuries within the crumbling brick walls of Gnomewood Home.

If you enjoy the fantasy and friendship of the Harry Potter series or appreciate the wicked dark fun present in the works of Neil Gaiman, Dan Poblocki or John Bellairs, you may also like Witchbone: The Goblin’s Winter. This is the first entry in a series about the strange adventures of Danny Hallow, for all readers who love psychic kids, goblins, ghosts, witches, mysteries & fairy tales. Not purely horror, fantasy or science fiction, it contains elements of all three.

While this is a simple story about kids vs. monsters (human and otherwise) larger themes include the importance of friendship and family (especially when you, your family and friends are atypical), dealing with the expectations that are placed upon us by others and the overall concepts of good and evil.

This title is Book One in a series of nine outlined stories. Book Two, The Ghost of Annie Gray, is slated for publication in April 2019. 


One thought on “Alex’s Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s